Status Seeking - reviews

Bluesbunny (bluesbunny.com), 24/08/2020

I keep thinking that the world might be flat and that, if you walk in a straight line, you will fall over the edge into the eternal abyss of reality television and Taylor Swift’s greatest hits. Two things that go together well, I know, but there are also things that don’t quite fit quite as synergistically into the way of the things of today and one of those things is Labasheeda.

This Amsterdam based band’s album Status Seeking plays out like European post rock hybridised with Dadaism in that curiously intellectual way that makes each song seem like a message that you have to decode with one eye shut. The necessary clues are likely to be found in the ever present and directionally consistent guitar but, with voices drifting in out of the songs to deliver lyrics dyed deep with poetry, the end result marches instead to the beat of the enigmatic.

And enigma it must be for, despite a masked purpose and the occasional traditional punctuation provided by a reticent violin, Status Seeking is an album of steps towards the future. Whilst this is a soundtrack to thought and perhaps scientific examination, what we, in fact, have here is passion sharpened to a point and prodded deep into the grey conformity of the here and now.

Best song? The convincingly conventional ‘Crossing Lines’.

The verdict? Almost mystical if you stick with it.

 

Marcel Ozymantra – Zone 5300 magazine, Summer 2020

Na vier albums en eindeloos toeren zou je denken dat Labasheeda wijd bekend is. Helaas is dit viertal rond zangeres/violiste Saskia van der Giessen en Arno Wolfswinkel een goedbewaard Amsterdams geheim. Hopelijk komt daar met hun vijfde album verandering in. Op Status Seeking klinken Van Der Giessens warme stem en scherpe viol en Wolfswinkels grommende gitaar als vanouds, maar op het frisse openingsnummer ‘Dark Dream’ domineert de bas van Renato Cannavacciuolo, en dat geeft meteen aan waar het Labasheeda om gaat: heldere, open klanken die aan het beste van de indie scne doen denken, ongepolijst en doodeerlijk. ‘Reunion’ brengt ons naar een universum waar luid en zacht nauw met elkaar verbonden zijn, met meesleepende, dansbare ritmes. ‘Stay True, stay true’, herhalen ze aan het eind, want het valt niet mee om aan een muzikaal ideal vast te houden. Want ja, Labasheeda roept de indie scene tot leven, maar daar is tegenwoordig weinig ruimte voor, en niet alleen vanwege de pandemie. ‘Interruption’ zet met kracht de lijn van ‘Reunion’ voort, en ‘Elusive Girl’ laat horen dat bij Labasheeda vorm en functie elkaar volgen: het nummer gaat over een ongrijpbaar meisje en zo klinkt de muziek ook, ongrijpbaar. De hele plaat lang laveert de zang soepel van hard naar zacht en van melancholisch naar ijl, en dat allemaal zonder warmte te verliezen. Een prettig toegankelijk album dat het goed op de stereo doet, maar ga vooral ook naar een optreden. Daar knallen ze zoals tegenwoordig maar weinig bands doen.

 

Wojciech Lada – U Korzeni (ukorzeni.pl), 19/08/2020

Recenzja Labasheeda “Status Seeking”: Poszukiwania w toku

Holenderscy punkowcy powracają po pięciu latach z nowym krążkiem. Nie ma może rewolucji, ale ewolucja jest wyraźna. Jest głośno i gęsto, ale z artystycznym zacięciem
Labasheeda znaczy tyle, co „łóżko z jedwabiu”. I już samo to wydaje się cokolwiek dziwne, jak na nazwę postpunkowej kapeli. A skalę dziwaczności dopełnia fakt, że nazywa się tak pewna angielska wioska, kapela zaś pochodzi z Holandii. Konkretnie zaś, z Amsterdamu.

Ale to nie jedyne, co może zaskoczyć przy nieświadomym kontakcie z muzyką Labasheedy. Otóż muzycy generują zasadniczo ostre, hałaśliwe dźwięki wyrastające z post punkowej tradycji, jednak centralnym instrumentem, który charakteryzuje ich brzmienie, są skrzypce. Nie pojawiają się w każdym kawałku, czasem stanowią zaledwie akcent czy inny detal, choć często też dominują w brzmieniu całości. Rzecz w tym, że zawsze tworzą bardzo ciekawy kontrapunkt dla rockowego hałasowania i powodują, że muzyka Labasheedy jest jednocześnie zadziorna i nostalgiczna, drapieżna i melodyjna, gęsta i kameralna. Po pięciu latach przerwy, można przekonać się o tym na najnowszym krążku Holendrów, Status Seeking, który ukaże się na początku września.

Od MC5 do Satie
Status Seeking to tytuł dobrze oddający charakter zarówno tej płyty, jak i całej drogi Labasheedy. Niby już na debiutanckim singlu ‘My City, Your Hometown’ z 2005 roku, a już z pewnością na rok młodszym, pełnym albumie Charity Box ujawniły się wszystkie charakterystyczne cechy ich muzyki. Z jednej strony ewidentne rozkochanie w twórczości luminarzy zabawy hałasem, i to tak klasycznych jak The Velvet Underground, MC5, Sonic Youth czy Pere Ubu, z drugiej, równoległa skłonność do minimalizmu i ascezy, w których można doszukiwać się skojarzeń z niektórymi pracami Briana Eno, czy może nawet Erica Satie. Jeśli chodzi o Eno, to da się w muzyce Labasheedy pewną sympatię również dla wczesnego Roxy Music.

Jednocześnie jednak muzycy nigdy nie poprzestali na tak klasycznie wyznaczonych wzorach. Szukali. Z czasem ich granie zaczęło wzbogacać się o klimaty postronkowe, odwoływać się do kraut rocka, nie bało się zapuścić w rejony psychodelii, a z całą pewnością również dobrego popu. To ostatnie potwierdzają wzięte na warsztat covery. W 2013 roku ukazała się np. sześciootworowa EP-ka Listen, The Snow Is Falling, z której tytułowy kawałek pochodzi z repertuaru Yoko Ono. Z kolei na Changing Lights znaleźć można niezłą wersję kawałka ‘Circles’ – autorstwa Pete Townshenda z The Who.

Wszystkie te poszukiwania dokumentują kolejne płyty: A Twilight State z 2010 roku, dwa lata młodsza Castfat Shadows czy ostatnia jak dotąd Changing Lights, z kilkoma singlami i EP-kami pomiędzy.

Opowieść na więcej smyczków
Skład zespołu zmieniał się parokrotnie, ale od jego podstawę co najmniej od 2009 roku stanowi duet: gitarzystka, skrzypaczka i wokalistka Saskia van der Giessen, oraz grająca na gitarze, ale obsługująca także instrumenty klawiszowe Arne Wolfswinkel. Status Seeking jest w całości ich dziełem, choć tym razem towarzyszył im większy niż zwykle zestaw gości. Było to niezbędne choćby z tej racji, że brzmienie grupy wzbogaciło się m.in. o altówkę i wiolonczelę. Ich udział nie jest natrętny – smyczki ja zwykle delikatnie wkomponowują się w agresywny charakter całości, robią jednak swoją robotę: wzbogacają harmonię, podkreślają melodię, czasem budują cały klimat, jak choćby w świetnym ‘False Flag’.

Na Status Seekeng jest chyba nieco spokojniej i oszczędniej niż zazwyczaj, choć nie da się powiedzieć, by muzyka ta straciła pazury. Rytm pozostaje napastliwy, gitary młócą punkowo… Główna zmiana tkwi chyba raczej w wokalach Saskii, które stały się chyba bardziej narracyjne, jakby raczej grały, niż po prostu śpiewały – opowiadają jakieś historie. Ale to dobrze. Nie tracąc zadziorności, muzyka ta zyskała nowy klimat. A jeśli wierzyć tytułowi płyty – na tym nie koniec poszukiwań.

I kto wie, może wkrótce przekonamy się o tym w Polsce. Labasheeda zawsze dużo koncertowała, zazwyczaj jednak w Ameryce i Zachodniej Europie, choć często także w Czechach. Nie wypadało więc nie zadać pytania: Zobaczymy was w Polsce?

Saskia: Zawsze bardzo chciałam u was zagrać. Często gramy w Czechach, nie mamy daleko, więc myślę, że tak!

 

Dan Reid – MNPR Magazine (mnprmagazine.com), 26/08/2020

(★★★½)

Five Years in the Making, Amsterdam Art-Punk Band Labasheeda Release New Album ‘Status Seeking’ September 4th

Status Seeking - Our Thoughts

We begin with ‘Dark Dream’ which sets the tone for the whole album, there are definitely “Refused” vibes from this band, and also you get the delicious twangy bass we have come accustomed to from the punk community, the melodic hooks that bring the chorus home and back again.

Is it weird that my brain is taken to the vocal styling of Pavements Stephen Malkmus, and the odd delivery he would bring in timing and melody, this sits in a really cool place for Saskia’s vocals.

In a world of polish, Labasheeda dares to walk the fine line between poppy melodies and gentle hardcore. The album threatens a live band that will no doubt “kick it” on stage but are able to delve into some actual song-craft for this album. There are times when this album feels like its withholding some grunt in the hardcore world, but as an album, it sits quite interestingly, lulling you into a sense of safety and then midway through it picks up to stove your heart in.

The album covers 12 tracks which show off the band’s ability to toe that line, we get a fairly wide range of melodic and gentle to wild and rowdy. The recording feels like it’s divided between someone filled with angsty sadness and someone who understands how to bring the melody to tie it all together, listen to this at 11 and it starts to make a lot more sense.

‘False Flag’ is the turning point on the album, it uses a string quartet to create a discordant tone, to offset the guitars and add a bit of texture to juxtapose the band’s hardcore side. The Orchestra was a really interesting decision and being used to support this band and add flavour was an ace choice, it certainly gets used in a different way on this song.

The band definitely wear their influences on their sleeve and that can be their greatest weapon as they have a sort of remix sound of some of my favourite 90’s post-punk, hardcore bands, the album captures some of that DIY recording sound that was present on those records and I hope that was a conscious decision.

‘Uncomfortable Objects’ makes the best use of the Orchestra and for me is the stand out tune, in a way I’d almost want a whole album of just tunes like this. It really plays to the bands best attributes, the recording and mix solidify’s all aspects of the song. It’s a true bit of synergy to bring these elements together on. The Orchestra has been cut loose and allowed to take the song into interesting and at times dissonant ways but they all work to make an absolute banger!

By the last tune we have moved into punk land, and ‘A Novelty’ is certainly that, at 1.34 mins its wham bam and thank you mam and we are done.

The album does exactly what it says on the tin. Punk with a tinge of Hardcore and dash of sweet lemony singing.

 

Underdog (underdogfanzine.de), 27/08/2020

Saskia van der Giessen prägt mit ihrer flexibel ausgeschmückten Stimme und speziellen Akzentuierungen, die oftmals frei und offen über die Rhythmuslinie springt.

Im Ergebnis sind es also die leichtfüßig tänzelnde Melodie und sehnsuchtsvolle Aufschwünge, die die melancholische-fragile Momente (‘Elusive Girl’) unglaublich intensiv und anziehend lautmalt. Innovativer und kreativer-Art Rock mit Stil und einer dynamischen Vielfalt der Soundstrukturen. LABASHEEDA produzieren viele unkonventionelle Ideen jenseits aller Schubladen, die mit wummernden Bassläufen, Violin-Parts, gelegentlichem Cello-Spiel und Hammond-M3-Orgel-Einsatz, ein komplexes, aussagekräftiges Album mit zeitlos schönen und schroffen Momenten voller Tragik. Die im Kreislauf der menschlichen Existenz enthaltenden Widersprüche (Harmonie-Dissonanzen) bringen diese Komplexität eindrucksvoll zum Ausdruck. Status Seeking ist eine weit geöffnete Klanglandschaft, die eine geheimnisvolle Symbolkraft besitzt.

 

Hans Werksman – Here Comes the Flood (herecomestheflood.com), 28/08/2020

HCTF Best of 2020: # 17 / 20

Rambling noisy art-punk goodness from Amsterdam

Amsterdam based art-punk band Labasheeda are back with a new album after a 5 year pause. Status Seeking is an eclectic, yet coherent set of songs that goes through hills and valleys (sometimes even within the space a single song). There are not that many bands in The Netherlands that feature a violin or even a viola, but it is a safe bet that they are familiar with Soviet Sex and Hospital Bombers (engineer Jan Schenk was in it back in the day).

Raw tenderness is captured in a hectic, but melodic, maze of music. Lead singer Saskia van der Giessen glides up and down the scales, improvising her parts as the band keeps throwing curve balls, with guitarist Arne Wolfswinkel acting as both Thurston Moore and Joey Santiago. Fans of the Au Pairs, Siouxsie and the Banshees, and the Sugarcubes can pick this up before hearing a single note.

 

Reza Mills – The Sleeping Shaman Webzine (thesleepingshaman.com), 02/09/2020

Labasheeda are a quartet from Amsterdam and Haarlem and feature Saskia van der Giessen (vocals, guitar, violin), Arne Wolfswinkel (guitar) and Renato Cannavacciuolo (bass). The band have undergone a line-up change of late, with Jan Tromp taking over on drums, but for the purposes of recording, Status Seeker, their first album since 2015’s Changing Lights, Edwin Slothouber (Tracks 1-6) and Luca Fiandri (tracks 7-12) have stepped in to help out. The artwork features, what I assume to be a rooster who, from what I’ve read ruthlessly fight one another to garner top dog status, leading to an improved chance of reproductive success. Seeing as science and nature were my worst subjects at pub quizzes, I wouldn’t be surprised if the veracity of my research were called into question.

The album starts with ‘Dark Dream’, a sprightly opener that recalls Sonic Youth (Saskia’s vocals resembling those of Kim Gordon), at their more condensed and less experimental, two and a half minutes of effective vintage 90s alt-rock. Not the worst way to start an album. Next up is ‘Reunion’, an appropriate title considering the five years that have passed since the band released any material. This is slightly more disjointed than its predecessor and as with Lightscreamer’s Reap who I reviewed recently for The Shaman, has a Riot Girrl influence in the vein of Sleater Kinney.

There is a quiet/loud Pixies dynamic to ‘Interruption’, reminding me of that band’s Wave Of Mutilation or even the Kim Deal fronted ‘Gigantic’. ‘Elusive Girl’ is a mellower low key, lo-fi affair that one would expect to hear from Lou Barlow’s Sebadoh. It makes for a nice change of pace from the punchier tracks we’ve had so far. Saskia comes in with some nice violin that works effectively alongside the pretty raging punk/post-hardcore on ‘False Flag’. As with a band like Therapy? it’s a track that packs a punch but isn’t afraid to be melodic either, the standout on the album by far in my estimation. We’re then met with another Sonic Youth flavoured tune by the name of ‘Crossing Lines’, which on first listen you’d be convince you were listening to a B-Side off of Daydream Nation. Thus reminding you of how awesome indie rock used to be; passionate, noisy and with a clear DIY ethos that many bands in the genre now could do with taking a note of.

There is an angularity to the sound which is particularly highlighted by the track ‘Clouds’ recalling Fugazi during their heyday and much like the post-hardcore legends, Labsheeda don’t forget to rock either. ‘No Guarantees’ intonates some Slint style post-rock, a slow and relatively more progressive vibe to the track, showcasing the band’s diverse influences. ‘The Adversary’ borrows a little from PJ Harvey’s punk blues (early-mid 90’s) while ‘Uncomfortable Objects’ features some pretty nice cello from Bas van Waard. Penultimate number ‘Infralight’ shows off the band’s post-punk tendencies with rumbling bass and spiky riffing. ‘A Novelty’ is a one and a half minute breezy out and out punk tune ala Kristin Hersh’s 50 Ft Wave project, particularly the track Clara Bow that ends the album on a bang.

It’s hard to believe that this is the band’s ninth studio recording to date and what they’ve offered us this time round are twelve tracks of solid and unpretentious post-hardcore/alt-rock. It isn’t an album that reinvents the wheel, nor will it change your life, but there is enough diversity and energy to hold your attention. It makes for an enjoyable listen and fans of 90s indie will become misty eyed with nostalgia.

 

Never Mind the Hype (nmth.nl), 04/09/2020

Labasheeda is terug van weggeweest! Vijf jaar stilte was niet voor niets, want vandaag komt het artpunk viertal bestaande uit Saskia van der Giessen zang, gitaar en viool, gitarist Arne Wolfswinkel, bassist Renato Cannavacciuolo en Jan Tromp op de drums met de verse plaat Status Seeking aanzetten. Helemaal mooi: over een uur staan ze in Cinetol Amsterdam samen met noisepunkers BUG! Goed moment dus om nog even die nieuwe plaat op te zetten hieronder…

De artpunk van Labasheeda is aangenaam eigenaardig te noemen. Vleugjes hardcore, oldschool postpunk, noiserock en de toevoeging van een viool zorgt voor een heerlijk all over the place geluid. Toch klinkt Status Seeking gestructureerd, zo heb je bijvoorbeeld het rockende ‘Dark Dream’ dat de plaat opent, gevolgd door het heerlijk opgebouwde ‘Reunion’. Een uitbarsting of crunchy gitaarriff is nooit ver weg, maar een grote troef is het gebruik van een viool door Saskia van der Giessen.

In tracks als ‘Uncomfortable Object’, ‘Crossing Lines’ of ‘False Flag’ komen die niet alleen mooi uit de hoek, maar ook akelig en onheilspellend, alsof we ons in een arthouse horrorfilm begeven. De oldschool hardcorevibe hoor je dan weer terug in het vlotte Interruption en de bondige maar venijnige afsluiter ‘A Novelty’. Kortom, een gevarieerde en eigenaardige punkplaat van Amsterdamse bodem, zoals die moet klinken.

 

Max De Boeck – Dansende Beren (dansendeberen.be), 06/09/2020

(★★★½)

De wilde jaren negentig roepen

Het Nederlandse Labasheeda ontstond halverwege de jaren nul rond violiste Saskia van der Giessen en gitarist Arne Wolfswinkel. De twee zijn duidelijk beïnvloed door illustere gitaarbands uit de jaren negentig als Sleater-Kinney, dEUS en PJ Harvey, en keren na een pauze van vier jaar terug met Status Seeking, hun vijfde album ondertussen. Zelf hadden wij nog nooit van Labasheeda gehoord en dat is jammer, want die invloeden zijn alvast uitstekend.

Zo zet Van der Giessen in rockende opener ‘Dark Dream’ een zanglijn neer die zo door Corin Tucker van Sleater-Kinney bedacht had kunnen worden, en doen haar vioolpartijen denken aan het vroege werk van dEUS. Meer dan oké, dus. Van der Giessen kan technisch gezien dan wel niet zingen, maar dat stoort niet. Het is dat haar schelle, bijna labiel klinkende stem perfect bij dit soort muziek past.

Nummers als ‘Reunion’ en ‘The Adversary’ werken door de uitstekende combinatie van schelle zang, subtiele dreigende viool en slaande gitaren. In dat gitaarwerk bespeuren wij trouwens een vleugje Slint, door de dynamiek die Wolfswinkel in zijn partijen aan de dag legt. Ook de ritmesectie heeft de typische luid-stil-luiddynamiek goed in de vingers. Een dynamisch nummer als ‘False Flag’, dat bij de eerste luisterbeurt enerverend klinkt (en niet op een goeie manier), groeit na enkele luisterbeurten uit tot een uitstekende song.

Die weerbarstigheid en weerhaakjes zitten trouwens in de meeste nummers op de plaat. ‘Uncomfortable’ is goed, net als ‘Infralight’, maar absoluut hoogtepunt is ‘Crossing Lines’, dat wij met veel plezier op herhaling zetten. Desondanks verdient deze plaat nét geen vier sterren. Labasheeda beheerst perfect haar geluid en beschikt over een eigen smoel, maar de liedjes zelf zijn over het algemeen net iets te inwisselbaar om echt boven het maaiveld uit te steken. Het is dat de weerbarstigheid van de band de muziek in de weg zit.

De meeste nummers op deze plaat bevatten enkele uitstekende passages, maar die geweldige stukken muziek worden vaak nooit ten volle benut. Neem ballade ‘Elusive Girl’, dat over een prachtige outro beschikt. Geen onaardig nummer, maar op die ene melodieuze outro na ook niet speciaal. Het is ons dan ook een raadsel waarom de band er niet gewoon een refrein van maakte. Zo maakt Labasheeda nog wel vaker vreemdere creatieve keuzes: zelfsabotage zoals we die niet vaak tegenkomen. Dat past natuurlijk bij de stijl van de band. Dat dan weer wel.

 

Peter Bruyn – Lust for Life, #104, 10/2020

(★★★)

Het Amsterdamse Labasheeda bestaat zo’n vijftien jaar, speelde een handvol internationaal opgepikte albums vol en kan grofweg in hetzelfde door Sonic Youth geïnspireerde gitaarrockgenre geplaatst worden als het – eveneens fijne – Rotterdamse The Sweet Release of Death. Toch is de band rond frontvrouw Saskia van der Giessen en gitarist/bassist Arne Wolfswinkel altijd een beetje in de schaduw van gelijkgestemde groepen gebleven. Een kwestie van label, ambitie en promotie, of zijn er toch muzikale oorzaken aan te wijzen? Op deze nieuwe, naar een compositie van jazzpianist Mal Waldron vernoemde langspeler – de eerste in vijf jaar – worden de gepassioneerde gitaarsongs nog wat nadrukkelijker en vaker ondersteund door strijkers (viool, altviool en cello) dan voorheen. Dat geeft Labasheeda een onderscheidend geluid, in combinatie met de hartstochtelijke en karaktervolle, Kim Gordon-achtige zang van Van der Giessen. Kwetsbare stukken worden afgewisseld met weerbarstig onblusbare rock. Wellicht dat ze hun volgende album eindelijk de titel Status Found kunnen meegeven.

 

Erik Vandamme – Musiczine (musiczine.net), 08/10/2020

Het Nederlandse Labasheeda is ook al een tijdje bezig. De band draait rond violiste Saskia van der Giessen en gitarist Arne Wolfswinkel. Labasheeda haalt zijn invloeden uit de jaren '90 rock. Ondertussen zijn er al enkele knappe platen uitgebracht, en ook nu blijft de band niet bij de pakken zitten. Het is vijf jaar stil geweest rond de Amsterdamse art-punk band Labasheeda, maar onlangs verscheen er een nieuw album, Status Seeking.
Labasheeda zal binnenkort weer live te zien zijn in een nieuwe bezetting, bestaande uit Saskia van der Giessen (zang, gitaar, viool), Arne Wolfswinkel (gitaar), Renato Cannavacciuolo (bas) en Jan Tromp (drums). Status Seeking wordt door Presto Chango Records zowel digitaal als op vinyl uitgebracht; de LP’s zijn verpakt in een genummerde, met de hand gezeefdrukte hoes.
De aparte stem van Saskia past perfect in het vaak bevreemdend klankentapijt van gitaar, bas en drums en bassist. De licht dreigende vioolpartijen beklemtonen de vreemd aanvoelende omgeving.
Labasheeda kleurt bewust buiten de lijntjes en trekt graag op avontuur. Luister maar eens naar pareltjes als ‘Reunion’, ‘Elusive Girl’; je voelt je letterlijk wegglijden naar een onontgonnen wereld in je onderbewustzijn die de fantasie prikkelt.
Helemaal vernieuwend klinken ze niet, maar Labasheeda geeft er een eigenzinnige draai aan . Aanstekelijke rock die de Pixies en een PJ Harvey doen opborrelen , zeker als je nummers hoort als ‘Uncomfortable Objectes’, ‘Infralight’ en het wondermooie ‘A Novelty’.

Labasheeda toont zich van zijn veelzijdige kant. Aanstekelijke art-punk wordt afgewisseld met een strijkkwartet en dissonantie met toegankelijke melodieën Status Seeking laat een band horen die hun voorliefde voor de jaren '90 niet onder stoelen of banken steekt. Wie houdt van die typische jaren '90 rock, zal in Labasheeda zeker zijn gading vinden. Wij lieten ons, met de ogen gesloten, gewillig meedrijven op deze aanstekelijke, psychedelische trip. Een parel van een art-punk schijfje dus, kwalitatief hoogstaand en wondermooi.

 

Matthew Barlow – The Typescript (thetypescript.com), 08/10/2020

Labasheeda emerged out of Amsterdam in 2004, and since then have built up a cult following around Europe and Canada, through relentless touring, and their energetic, intense shows. I saw them away back in 2009 at l’Escogriffe, a hole in the wall on the rue Saint-Denis on the Plateau. It was exactly that, energetic, and intense. I was hooked, and I seem to recall scooping their album, A Few of a Population, on CD, and though I played it a lot, I don’t think I’ve seen it since I left Montreal eight years ago. Sad me. But then, I was lucky to get a copy of their new album, Status Seeking here at Typescript, and all was right with the world again.

Labasheeda is centred around frontwoman, guitarist, violinist, Saskia van der Glessen and guitarist Arne Wolfswinkel. And Status Seeking is their brand new album. On it, they play their familiar hybrid of melodic music interspersed with off-centre guitar and distorted violin. I have to admit it took a bit, and a few emails with Saskia, before I realized I knew this band, and had loved them back in the day. In fact, it was after a discussion with my resident alter-ego and fellow Canadiens de Montréal fan, Karl Rozyn, that it hit me. We were discussing what sounded familiar about them and I was trying to find the words for the sounds I heard, and only after we were done discussing did it hit me, I had seen this band and had one of their albums, once.

Status Seeking kicks off with the guitars of ‘Dark Dream,’ and the song charges forward into the abyss, the guitars dominating the sound, and van der Glessen’s vocals buried deep in the mix, as she sings about the joys and travails of love, and how we disappear into each other, and get defined, re-defined, and re-seen by our partners, for better or ill. The guitar in the left channel, Wolfswinkel’s lead, is not quite dirty, nor is it clean, having descended down the generations from Keith Richards’ best work with the Stones in their early 70s heyday.

‘Reunion’ takes the energy of ‘Dark Dream’ and turns it inwards, the band’s sound filled out by Edwin Slothouber’s thick drumming, and it’s here that van der Glessen’s violin makes its appearance, slinking around, over the bass, and sliding in and around the drums. Wolfswinkel’s chugging bass is a highlight before the song explodes into guitars and a faster tempo.

‘False Flag’ begins with the violin before exploding into a furious punked out track that then breaks down into a bassline over the drums as van der Glessen sings, down in the mix:

She’s one of a kind
There is a pair of us
She’s not easy to find
We’re two, and you are you

The song shifts in tempo twice more before she continues:

Traits do have some elasticity
You do it for the one you’re not meant to be
Her world can come crashing down
On top of you
You know

And then the violin re-appears as Wolswinkel’s guitar gets nasty and the tempo shifts again, to an almost Soundgardenesque noise and violin. I actually lost track of how many tempo changes there are in ‘False Flag,’ which clocks in at just over three minutes, but it makes me miss live music, as this song live, because of those shifts, would be epic.

‘Crossing Lines’ is a bouncier track, with a simple 4/4 beat and van der Glessen’s vocals multi-tracked over top, the guitars in both channels, but Wolfswinkel’s lead in the left one. There are numerous tempo changes, and the guitars are all over the place without getting out of control.

I am especially partial to ‘The Adversary,’ which its dual guitar attack and chugging drums, as the guitars break down into 90s era sounds, covering anything from Nirvana to Sloan. Van der Glessen’s violin adds a depth to the song, the way it saws over the guitars, her vocals coming out of the left channel.

Labasheeda play this tempo-shifting, artsy pop punk, the violin is both clean and distorted. It is hypnotising live, and on album, I appreciate it because I can actually hear the chords, I can hear the progressions, and enjoy the music for itself, rather than the kinetic energy on stage. My only real complaint is that van der Glessen’s vocals are buried too far into the mix. I’d like to hear them more front and centre.

 

Gert Derkx – Opduvel (opduvel.com), 08/10/2020

Labasheeda is een in 2004 opgerichte band uit Amsterdam, waarvan de kern bestaat uit oprichter Saskia van der Giessen (zang, gitaar, viool en altviool) en de in 2006 toegetreden Arne Wolfswinkel (gitaar, bas, hammondorgel en Fender Rhodes). Sinds de oprichting bracht de groep vijf albums uit, inclusief de nieuwe plaat Status Seeking. Dat op vinyl verschenen album laat een band horen met een duidelijke hang naar alternatieve genres die het in de jaren negentig goed deden, maar ondertussen wel een eigen gezicht heeft.

Muzikaal laveert Labasheeda behendig tussen een paar genres door, zoals alternatieve rock, punk, lo-fi indierock en post-hardcore. De verschillende elementen worden verpakt in songs met een kop en een staart, maar onderweg kan het alle kanten op gaan. Soms is dat een verandering van koers, een andere keer een twist die aan de muziek wordt gegeven of de niet alledaagse instrumentatie. De muziek klinkt een beetje arty. Zelf heeft de band het over ‘art-punk’ en voor die term valt wel wat te zeggen.

Voornaamste troef van de band is dat de sound wat onvast, schurend en stekelig is. Een van de tracks op het album is getiteld ‘Uncomfortable Objects’ en ook de muziek van Labasheeda heeft iets oncomfortabels. Let wel: dat is een positief oordeel. De band vult niet alles voor de luisteraar in, maar laat wat aan de verbeelding over en soms moet je door een ongemakkelijk schurende passage heen om de schoonheid van de song te ontdekken. Of de schoonheid schuilt juist in dat ongemakkelijke, dat komt ook voor.

Van der Giessen is een geschoold violist, maar een geschoold zangeres is zij beslist niet. Haar stem klinkt onvast en daardoor soms zelfs wat onzeker, maar het past uitstekend bij de muziek van de band, al is het in het begin even wennen. Her en der krijgt zij overigens ondersteuning van achtergrondzangeres Danielle Pijpers. Meer jaren negentig dan opener ‘Dark Dream’ kun je het bijna niet krijgen en dat geldt ook voor de zanglijnen van Van der Giessen, die hier echt zingen combineert met praatzang. De bas klinkt basic, hetzelfde geldt voor de drums, terwijl de gitaar tegendraads opereert.

Een prominente rol voor de bas van Wolfswinkel is weggelegd in ‘Reunion’, waarin drie melodieën door elkaar heen klinken: bas, gitaar en zang. Als daar het vioolspel van Van der Giessen aan wordt toegevoegd, ontstaat een sound waar je u tegen zegt. Halverwege gaat het tempo omhoog en doet een gruizige gitaar zijn intrede. Zonder meer een hoogtepunt op het album. ‘Interruption’ klinkt op het eerste gehoor wat doorsnee, maar dat is gerekend buiten de akoestische gitaar die opduikt. Bovendien is het enigszins jachtige tempo goed gekozen, evenals de stop die plots opduikt. Steeds gebeurt er wat, soms met simpele middelen zoals het even niet laten meedoen van een van de instrumenten (drums, gitaar).

‘Elusive Girl’ doet het aanvankelijk met een vrij spaarzame en simpele instrumentatie, wat de zeggingskracht juist vergroot, evenals de goed geplaatste inbreng van het hammondorgel. Dat Van der Giessen zo nu en dan een beetje vals zingt: het doet niet ter zake. Haar schitterende vioolspel siert ‘False Flag’, een stevige uptempo rocker met de nodige dynamiek. Die song wordt gevolgd door het aan Sonic Youth refererende ‘Crossing Lines’, al heeft Labasheeda wel een andere sound en maken orgel, akoestische gitaar en viool dat de vergelijking toch ook mank gaat. Ook hier geldt dat er steeds iets gebeurt: de band zit niet verlegen om ideeën en weet er meerdere in een song te stoppen zonder dat het topzwaar gaat worden.

Daar staat de losse sound ook garant voor. In meer rechtlijnige songs als ‘Clouds’ is het die sound die de song naar een hoger plan tilt. Labasheeda klinkt overigens niet zo lo-fi dat het krakkemikkig wordt. ‘No Guarantees’ is een somber klinkende song die echt weet te raken, met een mooie rol voor de achtergrondzang van Pijpers en het stemmige vioolspel van Van der Giessen. In ‘The Adversary’ klinkt de band dan weer lekker stekelig en weerbarstig, ondertussen wel oog houdend voor de songstructuur. Een belangrijke rol is weggelegd voor het cellospel van Bas van Waard, die in drie songs de sound mag komen verrijken. Het opvallendst klinkt hij in het fraaie outro van de song.

Dat outro gaat over in ‘Uncomfortable Objects’, weer een sterk dynamische song, met onder andere mooi slepend drumwerk, waarin steeds iets aan de hand is. Veel luchtiger klinkt Labasheeda in ‘Infralight’, dat is gezegend met zo’n typische jaren negentig (underground) indierock-baslijn en dito gitaarspel. Het album eindigt met het korte en punky ‘A Novelty’ en daarmee zet de band een stevig uitroepteken achter een plaat waarop niet alle songs meteen pakken maar bij herhaalde beluistering steeds beter bevallen. Dat gaat ook op voor de zang van Van der Giessen. Viool, cello en hammondorgel zorgen voor de eigen sound. Het ‘art’-gehalte is niet zo groot dat het storend wordt. Status Seeking is een uitstekende plaat van een prima band.

 

Peter Thelen – Exposure (exposure.org), 12/10/2020

Formed in 2004 in Amsterdam, Labasheeda has released five full length vinyl-only releases over their career thus far, as well as a number of EPs, but Status Seeking is their first LP since 2015’s Changing Lights. The core of the band is based around singer / guitarist / violinist Saskia van der Giessen and guitarist / bassist Arne Wolfswinkel. Through the years, there has been a regular turnover in the rhythm section, and for this latest album we have drummer Edwin Slothouber on about half of the tracks, with Luca Fiandr on the others, with the latter handling bass duties on two cuts. Backing singer Danielle Pijpers rounds out the lineup with Bas van Waard guesting on cello on several tracks. Van der Giessen’s vocal presence is strangely commanding as she leads the group through a set that could best be described as experimental art-punk, the twelve pieces are all of succinct length, sometimes manic, other times more laid back, often distorted and over-the-top. While the vocals are a bit more lo-fi and fragile, and the instrumental backing more straightforward, I’m often reminded a bit of classic era Siouxsie and the Banshees. When violin is used it primarily offers a single driving element that cuts through everything else with power and simplicity. Many of the tunes here are quite catchy, with driving rhythms and overt hooks, like ‘False Flag,’ ‘The Adversary’ and opener ‘Dark Dream.’ A more subtle and shimmery fragility can be found on other numbers like ‘Elusive Girl,’ ‘No Guarantees’ and to a degree ‘Crossing Lines,’ while many of the cuts combine elements of both, for example ‘Reunion,’ ‘Interruption’ and ‘Uncomfortable Objects.’ There is definitely a compelling mix of melody, aggression and simplicity throughout the twelve cuts of Status Seeking, I suspect that Labasheeda is a great band to see live.

 

Ward – Alternative Choice (alternativechoice.nl), 18/10/2020

In 2004 werd Labasheeda opgericht door Saskia van der Giessen (zang-gitaar-viool) en sinds 2006 is Arne Wolfswinkel (gitaar-bas-hammondorgel) onderdeel van het kernteam van de band. Middels een succesvolle crowdfunding is het vijfde album Status Seeking tot stand gekomen. Deze langspeler doet denken aan de alternatieve genres uit de jaren ’90.

Is het mogelijk deze band een bepaald genre mee te geven? Het antwoord is nee, daarvoor is de muziekstijl veel te divers. Daar schuilt ook direct de kracht van de band, het is geen herhaling van zetten, maar juist een geniale mix van allerlei genres die samen prachtige muziek opleveren.

Gestart wordt met het duister klinkende ‘Dark Dream’, dat elementen kent van de jaren ’90 alternatieve rock. Saskia’s stem past zo onwijs goed bij deze track, niet geheel zuiver, maar juist rauw en vol passie. Op ‘Reunion’ horen wij de invloed van de basgitaar van Arne op de voorgrond treden, net als de vioolklanken van Saskia. Hier is onmiskenbaar het post-punk genre te horen, iets wat ik enorm kan waarderen. Halverwege de track gaat het tempo lekker omhoog en schreeuwt Saskia ons toe. Wat mij betreft een van de pareltjes van ‘t album.

Het snelle ‘Interruption’ doet je verbazen wanneer de akoestische gitaar om de hoek komt kijken en wanneer de track plots op de rem trapt, tof gedaan! Van heel andere orde is ‘Elusive Girl’, een prachtige ballad waar je kippenvel van krijgt. Een welkome afwisseling, het laat een heel andere kant van de band horen.

Dat de viool een prominente rol speelt op dit nieuwe album, is goed te horen als ‘False Flag’ zijn intrede doet. Het geheel krijgt een onheilspellend gevoel door de tempowisselingen en de vioolklanken waardoor dit nummer onwijs spannend is. Ook hier hoor je de post-punk terugkomen, maar dan geheel op eigen wijze ten gehore gebracht. Van dit liedje kan ik echt genieten! Dankzij de tempowisselingen, de gitaren en multi-track vocalen is ‘Crossing Lines’ een waar genot om naar te luisteren. Ook hier weer aandacht voor de prachtige viool, de band weet hoe het moet verrassen.

Grunge invloeden zijn terug te vinden op ‘Clouds’, waar de band weer een geheel eigen draai aan geeft. ‘No Guarantees’ is een rustige track, met prachtige achtergrondvocalen van Danielle Pijpers. Weer trapt de band op het juiste moment even op de rem, even het tempo minderen om de spanning in het album te houden. De jaren ’90 komen weer tot leven op ‘The Adversary’, maar dan met een extra dimensie dankzij het prachtige vioolwerk. Een heerlijke, duistere track die doet denken aan een combinatie van Nirvana en Screaming Trees, mijn favoriet van dit album.

De outro van ‘The Adversary’, met de prachtige cello van Bas van Waard, loopt zo over in ‘Uncomfortable Objects.’ Deze track kent een sterke dynamiek en daardoor blijft hij boeien tot de laatste seconde. Met name de hypnotiserende gitaarriff blijft bij mij goed hangen. ‘Infralight’ weet met een heerlijke rock-vibe je mee terug te voeren naar de underground rock van de nineties. Afgesloten wordt met punk-achtige ‘A Novelty’, een zeer venijnig sluitstuk waarmee de band een uitroepteken achter de langspeler zet.
Labasheeda heeft op Status Seeking de jaren ’90 geheel op eigen wijze doen herleven. Juist dat maakt deze band zo goed, geen kopie maar juist een eigentijdse twist waardoor de muziek tot zijn recht komt. Het gebruik van de viool is wat mij betreft dé smaakmaker, het geeft de songs een bepaalde diepgang die je niet snel ergens anders hoort anno 2020. De band mag tros zijn op dit eigenzinnige, maar geweldig mooie album!

Luistertips: ‘Reunion’, ‘Elusive Girl’ en ‘The Adversary’ (super tip!)

 

Arslane – Not a Music Blog (notamusicblog.com), 27/10/2020

Labasheeda, le groupe qui va vous réconcilier avec le punk rock

Pas mal de temps s’est écoulé depuis notre dernière review d’album et il était temps de remédier à tout cela.
Toujours avec l’ambition de nous concentrer sur des artistes tout sauf mainstream, la review d’aujourd’hui s’attardera sur le groupe Labasheeda et leur dernier album dénommé Status Seeking sorti en Septembre dernier.

Groupe originaire des Pays-Bas formé en 2004 et composé de 4 personnes, Labasheeda met le punk à l’honneur avec un projet qu’on pourrait qualifier d’audacieux et avant-gardiste mais qui s’inscrit néanmoins dans la continuité des précédents albums.
Oui vous l’aurez compris, cela fait déjà bien des années que Labasheeda casse les codes !

Le premier morceau de l’album, ‘Dark Dream’, donne directement le ton sur ce que seront les 40 prochaines minutes.
Guitares énergiques, basses qui nous prennent aux tripes, voix envoutante et énigmatique de la chanteuse Saskia Van der Giessen… Le groupe puise une certaine inspiration dans le rock expérimental et post-punk des années 90 et ne s’en cache clairement pas, pour notre plus grand plaisir.
Les fans de Sonic Youth et groupes du même registre y trouveront certainement leurs comptes.

Le violon est également un instrument mis à l’honneur et celui-ci fait son apparition pour la première fois lors du morceau ‘False Flag’, habilement manié par Saskia qui a décidément plus d’une corde à son arc.
‘False Flag’ qui est par ailleurs à titre personnel mon morceau préféré de l’album avec Interruption et ‘Crossing Lines’.
En effet, le groupe prouve avec ce titre qu’il n’a pas peur de prendre des risques et qu’il maitrise son sujet, jouant sur plusieurs registres différents. On appréciera également la basse notamment en milieu de morceau, particulièrement “heavy” et qui viendra parfaitement contraster avec le violon.

Un violon que l’on retrouvera aussi dans les morceaux Crossing Lines ainsi que Uncomfortable Objects et sa très belle montée en puissance !
Déjà précédemment évoqué, ‘Crossing Lines’, morceau qui pourrait rappeler les premiers albums de Slowdive, est pour moi la petite pépite de Status Seeking grâce à ses enchainements de guitares acoustiques/électriques, le tout magnifié par de superbes backing vocals de la part de la deuxième chanteuse Danielle Pijpers.
Sans oublier un bel élément de surprise en fin de morceau et des choix artistiques dans la composition qui ne laissent sûrement pas indifférent. Le rythme est particuliérement entraînant et on ne s’en lasse pas.

Il n’est à non pas douter que le groupe puise pas mal de son inspiration chez plusieurs groupes post-punk et rock expérimental tout en y ajoutant bien entendu plusieurs touches bien singulières et propres à eux.
Je pourrais citer Basement, Warpaint, Slowdive ou encore Sonic Youth parmi les groupes que me rappelle Labasheeda avec cet album.

Le collectif déclare pratiquer de l'art punk, il faut se méfier des étiquettes, ne t'attends en tout cas pas à entendre les Ramones, les U K Subs ou les Heideroosjes!

L'album se lance avec l'efficace ' Dark Dream' évoquant la hargne et la causticité des premiers Breeders, la voix de Saskia montrant quelques similitudes avec celle de Kim Deal.

Le son est brut, les guitares lacèrent, la basse pulse comme au bon vieux temps de l'alternative rock millésimé 80's, style Belly, Guided By Voices, forcément Throwing Muses ou Sleater-Kinney.

Le midtempo 'Reunion' baigne dans les mêmes eaux que la plage inaugurale, un violon approprié, placé au bon moment, nous rappelle que rock violin exists ( remember Curved Air, The Flock ou The Penguin Cafe Orchestra), tout s'écoule paisiblement ...I won't forget to remind you... susurre la voix, puis soudain, la basse, fourbe, annonce un changement de climat, l'orage éclate, la voix se fait stridente, ce n'était qu'une bourrasque passagère, retour à la quiétude.

Sont hollandais, tu dis, cette troisième plage baptisée ' Interruption' me rappelle leurs compatriotes Bettie Serveert , même si les fans de Betty Stöve montre un caractère plus poppy.

A droite tu lis Pixies, à gauche Sonic Youth, en France certains avancent Slowdive, il y a de tout cela dans le cocktail proposé, mais avant tout il y a du Labasheeda.

'Elusive girl' constitue la première ballade de cet effort discographique, elle est joliment décorée par un orgue cérémonial, 'False flag' qui lui succède reprend le flambeau alt. rock, un violon violent vient vous agresser alors que vous étiez toujours sous le charme de la romance précédente, ce drapeau flou te ramène vers l'énervé ' Suds and Soda' de dEUS et nous prouve que le gang de Saskia peut tout se permettre sans se fourvoyer.

‘Crossing Lines’ multiplie les changements de direction, démarrage acoustique, virage noise, solo de violon aérien sur toile rythmique shoegaze et un Hammond liturgique pour achever la messe, étonnant!

 

Michel Preumont – Concert Monkey (concertmonkey.be), 08/11/2020

Labasheeda, étrange comme nom de groupe pour une formation amstellodamoise!

Le band monté par Saskia van der Giessen, professeur de violon, a opté pour le patronyme d’un village irlandais, devant une partie de sa notoriété grâce au fiddler et dance teacher Dan Furey, car la famille de leur premier bassiste était originaire de ce patelin situé sur le Shannon Estuary.

Comme Leaba Shíoda signifie ‘Bed of Silk’, aucun membre du groupe ne s’est opposé à l'emploi de ce terme pouvant paraître exotique.

C’est en 2004 que Labasheeda voit le jour, le combo compte désormais neuf enregistrements avec la sortie de Status Seeker, qui pointe le bout du nez cinq ans après la parution de Changing Lights, leur quatrième full-length album.

Prévisions météorologiques... de sombres ‘Clouds’ vont traverser le pays, méfiez-vous des rafales de vent , ça va souffler sauvage.

Après le bref ouragan ‘Clouds’ vient le posé ‘No Guarantees’, pour lequel les vocalises assurées par Danielle Pijpers obtiennent un rôle essentiel, et quand les claviers prennent un petit air de glockenspiel désuet, tu te dis qu'il est l'heure de coucher les gosses.

I feel like I don’t want to feel the way that you do, the way that you do... ainsi sonne le refrain du mordant ‘The Adversary’ qui avant un final au violoncelle vient te marteler le crâne de manière opiniâtre.

Bas van Waard continue sur sa lancée pour introduire, comme en pleurant, ‘Uncomfortable Objects’ sur drumming sobre, les autres rappliquent, insensiblement le ton monte, il faut patienter plus d'une minute avant d'entendre la voix de Saskia.

Pourquoi diable, tiens-tu à dresser un parallèle entre l’alt rock des Néerlandais et le ‘White Rabbit’ de Jefferson Airplane?

God, can you help me?

Basse en mode bulldozer, chant saccadé, batterie métronomique, guitares acérées et claviers Dave Greenfield, ‘Infralight’ joue la carte postpunk avec succès.

Il ne reste plus que 90 secondes pour arriver au bout du roman, c’est ce laps de temps qu'il te faudra pour écouter le noise punk incandescent ‘The Novelty’ dans son entièreté.

Après 16 ans d’existence, Labasheeda est loin d’être essoufflé, Status Seeking en est la preuve!

 

Timpaan Muziek (timpaanmuziek.nl), 11/11/2020

Het is vijf jaar stil geweest rond de Amsterdamse art-punk band Labasheeda. Inmiddels is er een nieuw album, getiteld Status Seeking. Saskia van der Giessen (zang, gitaar, viool), Arne Wolfswinkel (gitaar), Renato Cannavacciuolo (bas) en Jan Tromp (drums) laten tegendraadse indie horen.

Lekkere meeslepende riffjes, onbestemde bassen en melodieën die verrassende wendingen nemen. Dissonante tonen ontbreken niet. Labasheeda vliegt lekker uit de bocht. Op momenten klinkt de band als een gedreven jonge U2, maar door de vrouwenstem zijn er ook associaties met Joan Jett en Pixies.

Interruption is een lekkere rocker, waar ‘Exclusive Girl’ een gevoelig kwetsbaar liedje is. In ‘Fals Flag’ scheuren de gitaren er onder begeleiding van een strijkkwartet flink op los. ‘Crossing Lines’ en ‘Clouds’ zijn heerlijke nummers voor een concert. De aandacht wordt vastgehouden door de wisselende stemmingen van Labasheeda. In de tracks ligt de verrassing slechts vier tellen ver.

Voor liefhebbers van rammelende indierock een topplaat.

Eindoordeel: 8,0

 

Perte & Fracas (perteetfracas.org), 16/11/2020

Cinq ans que Labasheeda ne s’était pas manifesté, depuis Changing Lights, quatrième album d’un groupe basé à Amsterdam et qui se fait discret. Un laps de temps conséquent qui a nécessité des changements de personnel. Mais le duo de base, Saskia Van Der Giessen (chant, guitare, violon et alto) et Arne Wolfswinkel (guitare, basse, claviers) reste aux affaires alors que deux nouveaux batteurs (un par face) et un peu de violoncelle sur trois titres débarquent dans le paysage.
Labasheeda a emprunté au pianiste jazz Mal Waldron le titre d’une de ses compositions pour nommer son cinquième album et Status Seeking, malgré ce long silence, garde le cap d’une musique art-punk comme le groupe s’autodécrit. Avec plus d’aspérités et d’angularité que par le passé. Mais pas moins de mélodies. Une équation assez basique que Labasheeda délivre avec simplicité et une certaine mélancolie, sans manière mais avec de nombreux arrangements, c’est âpre mais ça coule tout seul.
Toujours un pied dans les années 90 et son indie-rock légèrement dissonant, avec de fines traces de Sonic Youth dans sa dernière période la plus pop et en version courte, le rock sec de PJ Harvey à ses débuts (notamment sur ‘The Adversary’), les écorchures élégantes de Baby Fire, une approche intimiste, minimaliste parfois qui n’empêche pas Labasheeda de s’énerver et de frapper vite quand nécessaire, d’actionner les bonnes pédales quand il faut ajouter un peu de bordel et de saturations.
Labasheeda navigue sur un terrain mouvant difficile à cerner, qui peut apparaître un peu fade, sans une personnalité très marquée. Tout leur mérite revient à se sortir de ce piège à la seule force du poignet, par un sens de la composition dont le groupe a su élever le niveau et la constance. Entre chien et loup, quand les teintes deviennent incertaines, Status Seeking trouve sa place avec des morceaux attachants dont les mélodies deviennent doucement entêtantes. Les cordes obsédantes et distordues d’un violon, l’acoustique d’une guitare se mélangeant à la subtile électricité (‘Interruption’, ‘Crossing Lines’), le touchant et quasi folk ‘Elusive Girl’ auquel succède un mordant ‘False Flag’, la belle voix de Saskia Van Der Giessen habilement soutenue par Danielle Pypers aux backing vocals, Labasheeda a crée une suite de morceaux volant finalement au-dessus de toutes considérations catégorielles, se joue de ses influences passées avec naturel pour se situer hors du temps et des modes et signe un beau travail d’artisans du rock demandant de l’attention pour être pleinement apprécier.

 

Turn Up the Volume! (turnupthevolume.blog), 15/12/2020

Album Of The Day
Indie Is Alive And Kicking – Discover ‘STATUS SEEKING’ By LABASHEEDA

Band: LABASHEEDA
Who: Female fronted art-rock, noise and post-punk quartet from Amsterdam. Tying together a decade of adventurous, sound-evolving albums and changing lineups, are penchants for concise, stripped-down melodies, and quick switches from spacious bass lines and drums into heavy, chaotic, and sometimes anthemic guitar-driven songs,
drawing comparisons to genre-pushing bands such as Sonic Youth and Sebadoh.

Album: STATUS SEEKING
Released: 4 September 2020

Key references: Bettie Serveert, Sebadoh, Throwing Muses, Pavement, The Breeders

Turn Up The Volume: Is punk dead? Maybe. Is rock dead? Maybe. Is slacker dead? Maybe. Is pop dead? Maybe. Is indie dead? No way. As long as music junkies like these blend all aforementioned genres into a compelling sound of non-arty-farty and non-money-greedy honesty with a thrilling twist of their own, indie will be alive kicking. It only takes you 36 minutes to find out what I’m raving about.”

Key tracks: Dark Dream / Interruption / Crossing Lines / No Guarantees / Infralight

 

Raffaele Astore – RockGarage (rockgarage.it), 15/12/2020

Quello che ho appena ascoltato per poter essere recensito sulle pagine di RockGarage è uno degli album più belli di questo “amaro” 2020 che speriamo vada via al più presto. I Labasheeda, provenienti da Amsterdam, dopo aver esordito nel lontano 2006 con Charity Box ed aver prodotto diversi lavori e diverse compilation negli anni, si presentano ora con questo stupefacente Status Seeking un album che spazia tra alternative rock, punk, indie, post-hardcore ma che a differenza di quanto ci si potrebbe aspettare, non disturba i timpani anzi, i suoni giungono limpidi, piacevoli all’ascolto grazie anche all’uso di una voce vellutata, a volte morbida, mai aggressiva, piacevole è forse dir poco. Caratteristica di questa band è sicuramente l’uso della chitarra in modo quasi defilato oltre all’uso di un violino che, nella distorsione, trova il suo connubio perfetto con gli altri strumenti. I brani contenuti in Status Seeking colpiscono tutti e sin dal primo ascolto, infatti, ad esempio, con ‘Dark Dream’ che apre il disco, il modo di suonare basso e chitarra trascina indietro nel tempo a quegli anni settanta che hanno fatto un po’ la storia del rock. Anche ‘Reunion’ nel suo morbido concepimento richiama alla mente atmosfere nirvaniane delicate divenute ormai così rare che sono rimaste indelebili nella mente e questo grazie anche al sapiente uso del violino e della voce di Saskia van der Giessen. Il resto del brano poi è un bel viaggio tra rock e ricadute di melodia.

Questo modo di concepire la musica da parte dei Labasheeda lo troviamo in tutti i brani presenti in Status Seeking che viaggia tra orecchiabilità da una parte, fragilità ed ossessività dall’altra ed una sorta di incontro scontro tra sonorità che non stanno dentro specifici generi ma che sono quel rock effervescente che a volte manca. Leggendo qualche nota biografica in tanti hanno scritto che questa è una band da vedere dal vivo e di questo ne siamo ampiamente convinti ascoltando con attenzione questo Status Seeking e, per quanto possibile, diventa anche possibile immaginare che l’energia proveniente dal suono sia la stessa che questi ragazzi olandesi sprigionano sul palco. Se ad esempio ascoltiamo con attenzione Interruption sembra di muoversi in territori che ammiccano al post-rock anche se lo fanno quasi in maniera sorniona. Quando giunge ‘Elusive Girl’ l’atmosfera diventa quasi rarefatta, di una piacevolezza sconfortante dove la voce Saskia è più un lamento alla Dolores O’Riordan, una voce che pur trafiggendoti ti tiene in vita perché vuol farti soffrire con la sua bellezza e delicatezza. Devo dire che stavolta il mio compito più che di interprete di un messaggio musicale sta diventando quasi quello di un fan e non deve essere così, quindi riprendiamoci ed andiamo avanti.

Senza perdersi d’animo si viene subito accalappiati da un violino rock, violino che la fa da padrone in mezzo ad una musica sfavillante che fa davvero scintille rendendo ‘False Flag’ un’altra perla di questo disco che si sta rivelando immenso. Ed in realtà è immenso fino alla fine, grazie ad un percorso dove il suono, fluido e limpido, percorre tutti e dodici i brani di questo inaspettato Status Seeking. E poi, chi mi conosce sa bene quanto sia ristretto nell’assegnare un voto ai dischi che recensisco ma, questa volta, non ci sono dubbi perché questo Status Seeking è in tutti i sensi un ottimo disco.

 

Michael Schramm – Ox Fanzine, #153, 12/2020 – 01/2021

(8 / 10)

Labasheeda machen laut eigener Aussage “Art Punk”. Die niederlandische Band rund um Sangerin Saskia van der Giessen gibt es seit 2004. So richtig punkig ist das neue Album Status Seeking zwar nicht – macht aber trotzdem Spas. Irgendwo zwischen Indie und Garage-Rock haben die Songs ihre Lucke gefunden, wie der Opener ‘Dark Dream’ oder das flotte ‘Interruption’ zeigt. ‘Reunion’ klingt wie eine noisige Variante von Cat Power. Noch mehr Vielfalt gibt’s durch Orgel- (‘Elusive’) und Violin-Einsatz (‘False Flag’). Speziell in ‘False Flag’ gibt’s dann doch noch etwas versprochenen Punk – der Song ist mit seiner simplen Akkordfolge und interessanten Wechseln ziemlich ohrwurmig!
Auf der B-Seite sind es vor allem das traurige ‘The Adversary’ und das folgende streicherverzierte ‘Uncomfortable Objects’, die hangenbleiben, bevor das Album mit dem knalligen ‘A Novelty’ endet. Okay, nachster Durchlauf, schone Platte!